, attached to 2000-07-10

Review by westbrook

westbrook The excellent SBD/AUD recording on the spreadsheet makes this a worthwhile listen alone, but the songs you expect to bring the jams in a late 1.0 show (Gin, Jibboo, Sand, Twist) are all pretty pedestrian. My favorite segment is the Fee > What's the Use? > Limb by Limb run deep in the second set. Fee's outro naturally flows into WTU? and the following Limb has some great licks from Trey. The Antelope encore is a nice bonus too. This is a middling show overall but the great recording makes it more attractive.
, attached to 2003-11-29

Review by hambone024

hambone024 I try not to be too judgmental at shows, and to focus on the good. It's hard to do that with this show. Easily the worst of the 38 I've seen since 98. I'm cool with the setlist. But the performance felt lackluster at the time and still feels that way. Sloppy, uninspired. Highlights for me: I liked the Twist->Simple segue. One of the better ones I've seen. Nice slow segue, where Simple hints it is coming. Was cool to see Tom. I'm always cool with Tom showing up. And always cool with Buffalo Bill, which I've caught three of. Great to finally hear the story of the song on Under The Scales this year. What Trey said at the show about "a boss" now makes sense to me. I was really hoping Bowie would save the second set, after the energy had dissipated. After it, I clapped and wooed as loud as possible to help push the band in the right direction. My wife rightly said, "That song didn't deserve that." Strange Design just doesn't do it for me, and for a low energy S2, it just didn't help. And I stopped needing to see Zero again a long time ago. And then that Friday encore. I left the show pissed. Only time that has happened to me at a Phish show. And it was almost the last song I'd ever see them do live. Then they came back, and I caught a really nice Camden show in 09 that kind of made up for this night.
, attached to 2003-02-20

Review by Phishcake94

Phishcake94 Stop #4 of the Winter Tour and show #5 overall. [b]Rift[/b] gets the show rolling, a pretty rare opener, I think. Straight forward but well played version, minus a lyrical flub towards the end. [b]Rock & Roll[/b] also takes a weird spot in the 2 slot for the night. I actually don't mind it being played in this spot because it sorta sets the tone for the night. As soon as the jam takes off here you can tell the band is on tonight. Just a tight, type I jam - no one sticks out in particular here, everyone sounds really good. [b]Guyute[/b] comes next. This is one of my favorite compositions by Phish and they do it justice here, like in R&R, all band members are on point. Not much else to say about this one. [b]Driver[/b] comes next and seems to be played with a little more gusto than normal. I really like this song played electric as opposed to acoustic & wish they would play this song again. [b]Waves[/b] bats 5th & is a fast paced, up tempo rendition of this favorite Round Room song. A really soaring rendition, sparse on the spaciness, this one has a real hair raising peak to it. I wish they had let this jam go on for a bit more because the transition back into the song proper is a bit rushed, in my humble opinion. Still, this one is well worth a listen. [b]Simple[/b] comes up out of the water and what a glorious simple it is. The jam features some really nice, nimble & soft guitar work by trey, with a strong beat held down by Mike & Fish. Around 12 minutes in this one goes to deep space. Trey and Page add some really nice layers in this spaced-out segment that really keeps the jam interesting. Sometimes, for me, Simple jams can get kinda boring but this one definitely is not in that category. It sort of dissolves towards the end into a swirly mass of sound. This is the high point of the set so far & is must listen material. [b]Gotta Jibboo[/b] closes the set out in fine form. This song gets a bad rap sometimes, but I personally love the open endedness of the song. It reminds me a lot of Runaway Jim in the the jam segment is basically a repeating bass line and drum beat while page and trey add in noise at will. More nimble guitar work from trey here while Page adds some real nice splashes over top of everyone. This jam here has some real direction at about 7:30 in. Trey steps up to lead this one to the heavens and the peak here is sublime.It really picks up into full on rock star mode after 10 minutes or so. Fishman has some really sweet fills here and trey is just going off. Page switches over to a much more funky sound and switching the jam into a full on funk fest. I don't even know what else to say about this song. It's beautiful, funky & rocking. Just do yourself a favor and check it out. Well that was a pretty incredible first set. Despite the seeming randomness of set list during this tour, this first set delivers. The R&R is a tight ass jam and Simple goes to deep space while Jibboo just tears the house down going into set break. The last two songs are simply A+ Phish. Set 2 kicks off with a 20 minute, super dark [b]Tweezer[/b]. This one doesn't go through too many changes in the jam. Trey has a nice moment around 15 minutes in with his wah pedal. Gordo really stands out towards this section of the jam as well. Trey goes into full on hose mode towards the end and the song peaks very nicely. There's not much particularly amazing or unique about this jam, it's just a really well played, tight and dark Tweezer. Nothing wrong with that. [b]PYITE[/b] is next. At first I thought it seemed like an odd song placement, but then I remembered its Punch & Punch at any point in a show is always welcome. Halfway through the song I changed my mind and decided that I actually really like the 1-2 punch (pun not intended) of these two songs. Well played rendition. [b]FEFY[/b] cools things down after that heater of a half hour to open the set. This is another song I wish they would play more these days, I really do love pretty much all Phish ballads. [b]Seven Below[/b] is the penultimate song of the set, and what a Seven Below it is. The tempo quickly builds up in the jam and there's some fine, full band communication going on here. It stays type I until about 11 minutes in, where it sounds like Mike tries bringing them back into the song but Trey resists a little and then Page, once again, takes the jam in a more funky direction, with Trey adding some real nice rhythmic work here.Page continues to be the MVP of this song as he adds some real nice piano work while Trey keeps the jam moving in an upward trajectory towards the sky. 17 minutes in or so Trey and Page start to recede into the background a bit as Mike & Fish keep the beat rolling. There's some more nice, nimble guitar work by Trey in this section. The funk picks back up as the tempo continues to increase. Trey shines in this section. Gordon once again begins to reign the jam back into the song proper and this time the rest of the band obliges. This is easily, far and away, the best Seven Below up to this point. [b]Pebbles & Marbles[/b] delivers as the set closer. This is easily my favorite song from Round Room & has some of my favorite lyrics of any Phish song. It's both delicately beautiful & rocking. There's some real nice group interplay here, and while it's a long jam and is pretty strong, I wouldn't say it's overly interesting. A good rendition, for sure, but I'm a bit surprised this got a notation here and the Tweezer didn't. Either way, what an incredible set that was... Golgi, Anything But Me & Tweeprise close the show out in fine form. You can never go wrong with a triple encore! Overall, it seem's I chose a great show to write my first review for. From an unexpected Rift/R&R opener, to the spacey Simple & all time Jibboo, through the dark Tweezer and ridiculously funky & exploratory Seven Below, this show is straight A++ material & an easy 5/5 stars in my book. Do yourself the favor and check out the Jibboo & -7 if nothing else.
, attached to 1999-12-31

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads Big Cypress! Wow, what can I say? It's probably futile to try to capture the essence of even just the music upon relisten, not having been in attendance, but I do that, so I'll try. Split Open and Melt -> Catapult in the first set evolves into a groove that would reappear in permutations throughout The Set... it's almost as if Big Cypress had its own unprecedented and never-again-repeated jamming style, akin to the cowfunk of Fall '97. The highlights are too many to address individually, and you'll want to hear it all, anyway, but Rock and Roll develops a really unique jam with a quasi start-stop thing going on with plenty of cowbell from Fishman. The Cheesecake vocal jam is probably legendary, as it should be. An older review on here mentioned how noteworthy it was that Phish pulled off a "note-perfect" Reba and Bowie in the wee hours of the morning on New Year's Day, and that's true. The huge Roses Are Free (I think the longest one ever) is another one of the many, many reasons to listen to this entire festival. I'll conclude with this: I don't just have Phishtory memorized, but I think I may viddy around and see if this "millennial jamming" was entirely unique to Big Cypress or not... my hunch is that it is, and that makes this all the more of an outstanding achievement in the field of excellence.
, attached to 2000-09-22

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This is a great show. Not least of all because it opens first-set, first-song with a long, jammy Down with Disease, particularly notable in retrospect because it's a finished version, which has become somewhat rare these days. The next big song of note for me personally is Bathtub Gin, which is always reliable for "Type 1.5 jamming" but which had a very good year in 2000 (Cf. 6/23 and 6/28 from the Summer.) You Enjoy Myself has a vocal jam that I actually enjoy, and I'm not a big vocal-jam guy. The Tube to open Set II is a .Net Noteworthy Jam, but I don't find it that enthralling... certainly not as worthy of note as the Gin from Set I. Reba is a very good version, reminiscent in some ways of the version from just over a week earlier (9/14, which full show later became a Live Phish volume.) Trey's phrasing and licks are very similar to that 9/14/00 Reba, which is one of my top-5 Rebas of all time thus far. The Wedge out of Ghost is an interesting transition, though Ghost doesn't get quite far out. There's some banter in Meatstick about the dance and the Japanese lyrics, with Trey funnily saying they were in Japan "6-8 weeks ago" which if true means they returned there again after their brief tour of the country in June (which would be more like "12-13 weeks ago" by September.) Finally, Run Like an Antelope closes the set featuring a Meatstick tease, and Bold as Love dismisses us in order.
, attached to 1999-12-30

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This is a 5-star show to me. I wasn't there--though I wanted to be--but the significance of the weekend is not lost on me. Water in the Sky is, of course, a topical opener, and then we get the first Light Up Or Leave Me Alone since 1989, and it is jammed to perfection, with a Gotta Jibboo tease from Mike. That groove really sets a tone for the event. Corinna is another bust-out. The segment with Chief Jim Billie is a lot of fun, I think. I think the Tweezer in Set 2 is not really a noteworthy jam... it's more of a spacey exploration than a rager. We get a trio of 10-min.+ songs in Wolfman's Brother, Gotta Jibboo > Harry Hood, then the set closes with Good Times Bad Times. The Run Like an Antelope in Set 3, however, is probably my favorite version of Antelope ever played! Trey gets some cool action going on his Yamaha synthesizer in a kind of little duel with Page on his clavinet. Mike's Song is also huge, with Immigrant Song teases. I'm of the opinion that Big Cypress is a touchstone for Phish in a way that almost no other shows are: just a Temporary Autonomous Zone type feel to the shows that lends itself well to the psychedelic melange on display during 1999, with its influences from contemporary electronic music.
, attached to 1998-12-31

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads I think the Weekapaug Groove from this show is certainly a Noteworthy Jam. Then again, one of my favorite moments here is Ha Ha Ha. The energy is very good in this show, even on the chompy AUD on www.phish.in. Tweezer -> Cities is majestical, especially the last 30 seconds or so of Tweezer into the segue into Cities. Harry Hood takes some interesting detours during the composed portion... it's a solidly extended version, though maybe not Type-II in the same way as a few of the longer 2.0 Hoods. Simple is played at a somewhat slower tempo than its usual brisk stride. Finally, I'm not sure why Phish thought While My Guitar Gently Weeps was an appropriate song for the encore, as the show up 'til that point had been more energetic. That seems more like a song that would fit in an encore slot earlier in a New Year's Run than New Year's Eve night. All told, I rate this show 4 out of 5 stars.
, attached to 2015-08-09

Review by ragephanbenny

ragephanbenny This was the best Phish show Ive ever seen. From the very beginning I knew it would be a classic show. 1st set featured classic bustouts only played once in 2015. Some of my all time favorite jams from this show- the tweezer jam, the epic double jam mikes song, the waves outro jam, and a rocking encore, and the tight snippet-like ending to soam 5* show through and through!
, attached to 1987-10-14

Review by BudokanCostume

BudokanCostume I love the smoothe, up-close-vocal and in-the-pocket roll when YEM breakdown kicks off and in the transition to Golgi. It feels like these may be a hangover from Take the A Train earlier in the set. There is some considerable hiss in the recording I have, but the crunchiness of the recording pays off for me in the backing vox on Golgi being a perfect spot. Slave fades in and out, but I suppose my brain wants to fill in the spaces and appreciates taking it way down low. The Fluffhead recoding breaks down in the end, but up till that point, it feels like a driving Fluff, with lots of space between the instruments, giving them space to come back in together perfectly. Kudos to Mike for staying perfectly cool during a hot mic Possum start
, attached to 1995-06-15

Review by GrantBrown

GrantBrown Even at a rating 4.38 (at time of this writing), this show is still one of the most underrated shows in Phish's career. The show is smokin' hot from the jump and there's not a dull second anywhere. The playing is so ferocious that you can hear the PA growl on serveral occasions, and it's obvious that every square inch of The Lakewood is filled to the max with rich sound. Add to all of this that the jams are so intricate & downright weird - forget LSD, more like PTSD! This has 97-Foreshadowing written all over it. Warning - back to back listens are not recommended for cardiac health. Str8Fyah.
, attached to 1986-10-12

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw The debuts give this show some historical significance. You can see Trey stepping up to fill the space left behind by Jeff and thriving. Trey's guitar intro on Slave is excellent and beautiful. The highlight of the whole show to me is likely Sally which is pretty well played. Overall a decent show with some positive signs of a new direction.
, attached to 1986-04-25

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is pretty straightforward and inline with most of the shows from this era. One big exception is that the YEM from this show is far stronger than any other before it. The song had grown a lot in just a few weeks and it's pretty fun to listen to on this recording. The only other interesting aspect of this show is it's really the last widely circulated show with Jeff Holdsworth still in the band. So it is fun to romanticize him playing Possum and Camel Walk for the last time as an official member. Besides that a pretty forgetful show. But check out the YEM if you want a great early glimpse into the song that would become the most iconic in the bands catalog.
, attached to 1986-04-01

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw There seems to be some nice progress in the couple months between this show and the circulating February show at hunts. Quinn is decent enough but the pure gold from this show is "Have Mercy" the middle section has some great Piano and Guitar interplay that is beautiful for any era, and something I will probably go back to which is saying a lot from this period. Hood is interesting because the middle section is quite different than what it will grow to be. Instead it includes teases from Col. Forbin and some other nice elements before concluding. The Pendulum is an interesting piece based on the fact that Phish has never known to be particularly politically charged (Jeff was probably the sole member who was) so it's cool to hear them do something like this. For cross over fans from the Dead community it is cool to hear the Help -> Slip suite with Bag at the end as opposed to Franklins Tower. The majority of the show is fairly lackluster and average for this year. Overall nothing to write home about besides the superb have mercy. But that's enough for a 3 star rating from me.
, attached to 1994-04-30

Review by westbrook

westbrook The first set is quite short and unspectacular aside from yet another '94 Stash you'll want to hear. The second set is a big improvement over the first and circulates in SBD quality so there's no reason not to give it a go. Wilson > Bowie is a great combo to get things moving and also begins the "Lion Sleeps Tonight" theme of the set. I found Page to be the instigator of many interesting ideas in this Bowie jam but Trey also gets his licks in before the end. Wolfman's starts another mini segment of the set that runs through Hood. It's still a little strange to hear an early Wolfman's with its lower key and lack of a jam but it's a nice rendition. Peaches is mostly clean aside from a brief slip-up from Trey. The Lion Sleeps Tonight is integrated smoothly into this strong Hood. The ending of the song is cut off but you get the whole jam. It's at this point in the show where you might be expecting a breather, but it keeps rolling all the way through Axilla II, McGrupp, and a really hot Possum that fits in a bunch of teases. Possum concludes the real meat of the show from a jamming standpoint but Purple Rain sung by Fishman is charming in its own way. During BBFCFM Fish has to tell somebody to "get off my fucking riser" which he then apologizes for saying in front of his mother. Funny stuff to end a good show.
, attached to 1986-02-03

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is pretty rough. It does have the historical significance with it being the first YEM ever played live (supposedly) but everything around it is fairly rough and very loose. No real highlights from this show at all but it is still an interesting piece of history considering the most iconic Phish song was (supposedly) played for the first time.
, attached to 1985-11-23

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw It's hard to properly rate this show based on how incomplete it is. But what is easy to know is that the Whipping Post jam here is one of the most important jams in Phishtory. It's one of (if not the longest) from the primitive years of Phish. Although it does not have the progression or direction from the post '93 years it is no doubt fluid the whole time. It is essentially the band piecing together various styles and a ton of different teases. The above shows all of the obvious teases like The Other One and Norwegian Wood. What isn't included (yet) is the Slave to the Traffic Light tease at 19:24 of the recording. The whole thing is fantastic and a huge stepping stone for the guys in terms of improvisation live. Mike's is a fairly rough and early version as is Run Like an Antelope. Dave's Energy Guide is obnoxious as usual. Overall what was recorded and recovered is pretty entertaining and good. The only thing worth going back for however is the Whipping Post Jam.
, attached to 2016-06-26

Review by serpent_deflector

serpent_deflector My first show and, therefore, it holds a special place in my heart. I played it over and over, throughout the year, on days there weren’t new shows to listen to. Listening back now, I can see that it is a fairly average show, considering some of the monsters I saw in 2017. But the MFMF opener was well-played and KDF is always welcome. A fun, energetic way to start the show, after having to wait it out for the rain delay. Theme>First Tube was a great way to end a high-energy first set, with Lawn Boy as the lone breather. I see some criticism for the PYITE set 2 opener and I can understand it. It’s not a jam vehicle like we tend to see in that slot and there were some mistakes. But the song’s intro has been a favorite of mine since early in my fandom, after watching Bittersweet Motel. So it got my blood pumping again. Check out Trey’s solo here- it worked for me at least. Light>Golden Age>Boogie On is the meat of the show. Light has awesome melodic soloing from Trey, bombs from Mike and a great groove from Page on the Clav to end it and segue into GA. Golden Age and Boogie On were soaring and funky, respectively. The show ends on another high-energy note with the Possum closer and RnR encore. 3.5/5 stars
, attached to 2012-08-18

Review by theothr1

theothr1 just listened to the sublime "Simple" from this show for the umpteenth time (twice, today) and, for the life of me, canNOT figure out how no one has acknowledged the sick little "Wheel" (more) tease (than jam) that Mike and Fish throw in at about the 8:41 mark (on the LP cd)...it lasts for a little bit until Trey and Page dissolve it into the aforementioned 'whale-call' space
, attached to 1991-11-14

Review by theghost

theghost I'd say this ANTELOPE is being underestimated as a novelty. It really smokes.... Trey shreds it HARD in a 91 style that makes it a little unique from the later ragers. As a small historical note, Smells like Teen Spirit was just starting to explode on this particularly date. Checking back, it was #3 this week on the Billboard Alternative charts and would hit #1 on Nov. 23. It didn't peak on the mainstream charts until mid January. So anyway...the little teen spirit tease was very topical... not just a throw off of an ubiquitous vocal riff.
, attached to 2000-06-24

Review by westbrook

westbrook Good first set, albeit short. Moma and Jim both stretch out in their Type I jams. This Tweezer would be a treat anywhere but it being in the first set makes it even more noteworthy. You can draw some parallels between the Radio City Ghost and this jam, with both featuring thick grooves led by some fabulous playing from Mike while Trey hangs back, giving the jam a very chilled vibe and a deliberate pace. Despite sharing these characteristics, this Tweezer does not develop into anything as transcendent as the movement that begins around minute 16 of the Radio City Ghost. In fact it takes several attempts for the band to successfully build off of the central groove, but if you enjoy the journey you'll appreciate this jam very much. The second set suffers from both a lack of jamming and questionable setlist choices. BOAF starts the set off on the right foot but following that up with Bug immediately disrupts the flow. There's a reason the ballad type songs usually come later in the set. My Sweet One is botched but at least it leads to some stage banter. Antelope is a step in the right direction with Trey using his pedals to create some cool swells in the jam, but then we're right back down with Frankie Says, which is a good song but doesn't do the set any favors in this spot. Carini, Squirming Coil, Caspian continues the up and down feel of the set and doesn't allow for any momentum to build. A quadruple encore is nothing to sneeze at and it makes up a bit for the lackluster second set. 3/5
, attached to 1997-11-28

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Personally to me the 1st set is far superior to the 2nd in this show. The Curtain is a completely out of left field type opener. The YEM that follows is superb and includes a very clever vocal segue into I Didn't Know which is finally polished. Maze is always welcome and this one is complete and total fire. Farmhouse is still very young in this show but Trey plays it completely inspired I really like this version. It also has one of the better Black Eyed Katy's, Trey chops his guitar with nice funky licks. And as expected Theme is fantastic like every other version from '97. The 2nd set is pretty meaty Timber and Limb by Limb have a nice little stretch to it but I feel like they don't go anywhere interesting really. Slave is pretty decent but not a top version from this year. Ghost is the highlight of the set it has some nice experimentation but is completely outshine by the majority of the version from this year. Encore is straight forward. Overall not a standout from this tour, but still worth checking out for the 1st set.
, attached to 1995-11-15

Review by westbrook

westbrook Currently holding a rating of 3.571, I'd call this an underrated show. The first set is not a standout but you still get an AC/DC Bag and SOAM played with their characteristic '95 style fury and a delightful Squirming Coil closer. The Mike's Groove that anchors the second isn't as well known as the 12/1, 12/7, and 12/31 versions, but it's right up there with them in terms of quality. A true highlight of the tour. The material surrounding that show-stopping sequence is merely average by '95 standards but still makes for a really good second set.
, attached to 1992-05-14

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito This was my second show. The energy inside the Capitol Theater was intense and it was clear that this band was quickly outgrowing even larger theaters such as this one. This was a really great show and helped solidify my love for the band. They open with Suzy followed by ATR. Both are fine versions. The same goes for The Sloth and Sparkle that follow. Not much more needs to be said about any of these opening tunes. Things finally open up a bit with Maze. Still in its infancy, this tune has a nice jam but doesn't hold a candle to later versions. I like to ponder the evolution of Phish songs and find it noteworthy that this was the longest version of Maze up to that point since it debuted several months back, only to be bested two shows later. After Horn, with its little false start, we get an excellent Reba. Trey's fine guitar work is on full display towards the end of the jam. The set closes with what I like to call Spiderlope. Those familiar with the Spiderman cartoon from back in the day will be familiar the tease in this version. This tease, combined with secret language instructions, and a fiery jam leading into them, makes for one of my favorite early versions of the tune. Glide, Cavern and Rift are all perfunctory takes but make for an interesting 1-2-3 opening combo for set II. This brings us to Fluffhead. I love this tune and the band gives us a solid version. Eliza is a nice rarity that makes its final appearance this night. And then this brings us to Mike's, which is fiery and rocks. I was always a sucker for the classic Mike's Groove combo so Hydrogen is a welcome inclusion here, and the Wait in the middle of Weekapaug but is an interesting inclusion and is nice for my personal stats. It's also noteworthy that this tune too makes its final appearance on this date. In all, this Mike's Groove is a worthy listen. McGrupp is a lovely visit to Gamehenge. A late set Stash is a really nice treat here, as is the Possum to close it out. It doesn't come close to the amazing version I caught three nights later at Union College but it's still a great version. With Sleeping Monkey and Rocky Top as a double encore, we're done. After this and my next show on 5.17.92, I was sold. This band became my favorite band and I've never looked back.
, attached to 1999-12-08

Review by westbrook

westbrook This is a very good show, and I say that as someone who's not the biggest fan of December '99. The setlist is nicely balanced between rockers, jams, and slower numbers and the jams that are present are all worth your time, something that I don't think can be said for others in this tour. 4/5 for sure.
, attached to 1995-06-23

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads Prince Caspian sure was short in these days, wasn't it? Great setlist, as was typical of the time: all killer, no filler. Simple to open the show is interesting... Reba is really good, but my favorite version (12/31/95) hasn't been surpassed so far, in my listening. The You Enjoy Myself vocal jam was a little bit annoying to me during the part where they were kind of making popping noises with their mouths. Run Like an Antelope in the second set is what I'd call a heady version, leading into a segment featuring John Popper on harmonica (Harpua -> Jam -> Llama, Good Times Bad Times.) I think this is the first unfinished Harpua I've ever heard. John really rips on harp through that sequence of tunes. A Day in the Life settles us in for the night.
, attached to 1995-06-22

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This show contains the best Sample in a Jar I've yet heard. I was forcibly impressed by how the Sample openers nowadays go in a different sort of direction entirely. It's still the same song, but... I'm musing here on the magnificence of Phish's ability to infuse such life into their music. I noticed that the crowd is quiet on the audience recording during the beginning of Scent of a Mule, which features a stunning "Duel." The other highlights of the first set for me were It's Ice and Maze (and I'm always ready for a Strange Design.) Set II contains what's become known as the FLeezer ("[b]F[/b]inger [b]L[/b]akes Tw[b]eezer[/b]") as well as a jam out of Theme From the Bottom, which is played admirably. This Tweezer is almost an hour long, or as near as makes no difference, and I can easily imagine that the crowd might've been swept away by it. I don't want to spoil it for you. Acoustic Army has some audience participation, I guess? And While My Guitar Gently Weeps closes the show on what I have to assume is an imploring note: part invitation to continue on the tour, and part meanderminded personal externalization. The practice regimen seems to have been a bit stricter at this point? Or maybe they were just honed from playing shows more often. Whatever "It" is about this show, I'd welcome it any time I might see Phish.
, attached to 1995-11-12

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito I've been diving into some less covered shows and this is one that deserves a bit more attention. I love My Friend My Friend in the opening slot, and Llama to follow is sweet. A nice, high energy 1-2 punch to get things going. Guelah is an always welcome rarity and this version doesn't disappoint. The Reba is a magnificent centerpiece of the set. This tune will always have a special place in my heart ever since my love-at-first-listen when I popped Lawn Boy into the CD player back in 1991 and this version is as fine a take as any from this year. The recording is crystal clear here and the band is clearly in sync as they build to an intense peak. A very fine version. The Taste is an early version, which still has Fish on some of the vocals. I don't miss these versions. The If I Could is a lovely breather before the Melt. This version is typical '95 stuff, which is to say it's pretty great. It builds to a chaotic peak and, while it's not the most out there or long version, it's an energetic, strong version. After the audience chess move, the set opens with The Curtain. While I prefer my Curtain's to be With, I'll take it without if there's going to be a monster Tweezer like this that follows. Of course, back in '95 the band was only playing the tune without so we didn't have a choice and this is a nice set opener. This Tweezer doesn't disappoint. While not as deep or exploratory as some of the versions from the past summer, this version is excellent. This upbeat version pretty much rocks the whole time and is worthy of a listen, especially if you tend to lose interest in the spacier or more ambient jams. After a couple of other tunes, Slave makes its appearance and this is a lovely version with nice peaks and valleys. Kudos to the taper as each band member is clear here, and Mike in particular is fun to follow. The Possum is a fun, tease-filled version which sets us up to end the show. While not quite the tease-fest from the second time I caught this song, on 5.17.92, this is a great version. Going into this song, I would have thought this was the set ending. If the band did in fact end here I don't think anyone would have been disappointed. However, the band had other ideas. I love Tweezeprise in the set closing slot rather than as an encore as it closes on the highest possible note. For the encore we get Fire, a nice, short version but it's a perfect choice. After a rocking Tweezer, Possum and Tweezeprise, we should've expected nothing but a Hendrix cover. And we're done. An overall very good show in an excellent tour.
, attached to 1998-07-03

Review by westbrook

westbrook This being a one-set festival performance, there are predictably no big jams to be heard, but a high quality AUD and some fine playing make it a decent listen. 2001 > DwD is the highlight to me, with the former being as laid-back and funky as you'd expect given the date and the latter a sizzling, Type I, complete version. This show also gives you the opportunity to listen to a YEM without feeling the guilt of skipping the vocal jam, although there is no real peak before sliding into A Day in the Life. Compared to most full two-set shows, this doesn't offer anything you haven't heard before, but compared to anything else you could be listening to, I think it stands up quite well.
, attached to 1995-06-22

Review by Midcoaster

Midcoaster The Grateful Dead over on the Hudson, playing Albany during Jerry's final run through the northeast while Phish plays 200 miles to the west on the Finger Lakes. The Dead made a passable final appearance in the region, while Phish absolutely shreds the fabric apart. What more could someone ask for? How would one have known where to go? Such dilemmas represent an embarrassment of riches. We'll never see the likes of it again. BTW, has anyone else ever played a two song second set? This, alone, is an accomplishment of mind f**k, and I applaud Phish their efforts. This is a psychedelic melt-down fest, and I would never complain about it. Thanks, guys.
, attached to 2003-12-02

Review by Mcrothers

Mcrothers I completely disagree with Bob_loblow. In no way would I consider this show to be shit. Agreed, the first set was disjointed but Piper was sick ass hell! R&R was ridicules. End of 2003 into summer 04 wasn't the strongest by any means. But They has some insane dance-able jam syles in this 03 & 04 that I haven't seen anywhere in 3.0.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2017  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation