, attached to 2019-06-18

Review by jonesgator

jonesgator My word, this show is being assailed! I was not at the show, nor have I had the chance to listen to it yet on LP, but I have to imagine a lot of these votes are cast without having listened. There should be a 'did you listen' question a la the bot questions we all get at different sites (including this one) that one should have to answer before posting. That said, this rating is abysmal. What is the lowest rated show on Phish Net?
, attached to 2019-06-18

Review by aybesea

aybesea I love this band... I mean... I really do. I've been following Phish since my first show in 1992, and I've been "hardcore" since 1993 when I first decided to do a tour. But that being said, it doesn't mean that I love everything that they do. Unfortunately, this is one of those shows that really doesn't work for me. Overall, this show is lacking on song selection, replete with mostly shorter songs that don't really have a lot of room for improv. And the few songs that could be jammed out, generally aren't. Like I said, this show really isn't my cup of tea. Don't get me wrong, that's not to say that there's anything wrong with this show... it's just not my kind of show. That being said, there are a few standouts here, and I really don't want to overlook them. The overall SAT score for this show is a less than stellar 891.74, with the major contributors being a strong Stash (108.51... very good, but not as good as St Louis) and Golden Age (171.90... an absolute must listen). There is also a brief, but enjoyable YEM (155.28), the new track Ruby Waves (64.45), and a well played Drift encore (56.59, if that's your kind of song). Other than that, I'm looking forward to Cuyahoga and putting this show in the rear view mirror. Let's hope that they got this out of their system for the tour.
, attached to 2019-06-18

Review by s1177375

s1177375 I’m ready for a punch you in the eye give me a my friend my friend calling it as an opener tomorrow. show of life or Quinn the Eskimo encore Another Roggae please a squirming coil into VE sea and sand into way down in the hole The WIRE HBO how about most events aren’t planned how about Bliss into swept away into the man who stepped into yesterday into lizards I love the song Gone sad beautiful song Ok onto this show and not my wishes for a great blossom tomorrow show. Today I sing tomorrows song so this show well I only cared at Stash it was really interesting I don’t like the song stash but this jam is actually really good I listened to it on the way home from work at 3 am Followed by a stupid stow cop near Blossom Maybe we have to get a crowd control just to get these pigs off my ass. It is mellow easy and how all stashes need to be. Great Stash and I don’t even like indecisive people. I totally forgot about the wedge and lawn boy as “great to go to places” as a concept for a full show. The frost put me to sleep but pretty and the comet was standard but trey went ape shit lyrically so he is in a good mood that is contagious to a willing to surrender to the flow crowd in me. Ruby waves is a good song but about to run is the better rocker like 46 days a nice bluesy rocker. I wanna hear about to run again LIAR! Standard YEM but very rocking trey licks at the end I liked the first enjoyment of myself I don’t like long vocal jams anyways great great set closer no 1 will disagree with that as a 1st set closer go to! I wanted my first if I could live but I missed it by 1 show but I have a feeling tomorrow will be better than today’s show. Golden Age was good but still yet to see a 20 + minute song in this tour. I need a 20 minute ANYTHING tomorrow at blossom. We need exploration not just orchestrated progressive rock I love the Woods songs far better worlds apart from pussy drop interrupt nonsense skandonavion bullshit that whole album blows and we were created not evolved from monkeys fuck that Darwin lie. Darwin saw birds ADAPTATING to their environment on the Galápagos Islands. That is fucking all he saw. He never saw a species turn into another species and a species or family will never become another family of mammals or animals or dinasours. They always stay within their kind. Liars u are all liars in the science world. The Big Bang theory is a joke made up by people that just do not want accountability to a moral sovereign GodAnd by the way Trey God does listen to what you say lifeboy is a liar. If you play life boy or friends at Blossom I will boo so loudly that everyone in the entire stadium will hear it fuck anyone who doesn’t believe in God
, attached to 2019-06-18

Review by TwiceBitten

TwiceBitten This is the kind of show both noobs and jaded vets alike will either hate on or be indifferent to. Nevertheless, I'm here to remind you in a simple way that Phish tears the roof off the sucker every time they play. Set one is mostly a normal 3.0 affair but Stash goes type II for the 2nd time in a row. Not as hetty as St. Louis (by a long shot - that is a very impressive jam) but still above and beyond the norm. Frost is a great and underplayed song, but based on the crowd reaction you can see why. Ruby Waves was a GOTF Phish debut that I think went type II. YEM was a great call and played relatively well and briskly, but this was a short version even for 3.0 standards. This is a great sounding venue. We had relatively close seats but the walkway between the lawn and the pav was the loudest and best part so we did most of the show there. Very solid rage zone. Now take a look at that second set. Have you ever seen a Phish set remotely resembling that? To me that would be reason enough to check out the show if I hadn't've been there. Plasma jam instantly went to a major key, and I think to type-II-land before segueing (unfinished?) into a Kasvot Vaxt tune. That one also went type II (I think?). I guess you'll have to consult the playback to find out. Wingsuit was sort of an odd call but I guess I'd rather it here then as a late set "you know this show is almost over" song. Golden Age was the improvisational highlight of the night. You'll want to hear this one jam if you're a picker-an-a-chooser. I thought the set from here had solid flow. Even though none of the jams went anywhere, the segues did not feel forced. I'm recalling echoes of some of the Chaifetz 2012 show; remember that one? I absolutely love the encore...takes me to church or rehab or the hospital, I'm not sure which. Thank you Trey, I'm ready for the Lord now.
, attached to 2019-06-18

Review by dublindeuce

dublindeuce Pretty good Tuesday night Phish! Stash is making a case for itself as jam vehicle of the young tour. This one is only 12 minutes, but quickly goes to wondrous places following the composed section. Psychedelic and dreamy, this Stash really packs a punch! In its' Phish debut. Ruby Waves gets a very nice jam. YEM ends this set with an exclamation mark. It's nice to see the return of Sample in a Jar and Frost as well. The second set is solid enough. Plasma doesn't get too far before before Trey opts for The Final Hurrah. With the help of Page, Trey steers the band to a nice beachy groove. I'm a sucker for a good Wingsuit, and this one is lush with washes of with color and sustain provided by Trey and Page. This Golden Age is phenomenal. Mike and Fishman provide a solid foundation for Page and Trey to lay cerebral textures on. It really deserves another relisten, or three. Unfortunately, after Golden Age, the show loses steam. IAWITW doesn't do much for me in this slot. Prince Caspian, If I Could, and 46 Days are all performed well, but lacking the propulsive energy earlier songs in the set had. This is the first time I'm aware of 46 Days ending the second set of a show. Overall, not a great show, but pretty solid! Definitely listen to the Stash, Wingsuit, and Golden Age!
, attached to 2019-06-18

Review by Itch_to_the_nag

Itch_to_the_nag There is no denying from fall ‘13 to NYE 2018 there has been some incredible shows. Some might even say “the best show of all time” was played somewhere in that stretch. But tonight was some of the worst of 3.0. The trend of playing less and less shows is going to catch up eventually and we may have finally gotten there. Hard to be straight fire when you don’t play live for 6 months, and the majority of shows over the last 18 months take place strictly at MSG. Thankfully there is a god dam wizard running the lights. But even that only goes so far. Recoverable, maybe? But with only 18 shows left for the entire tour, not sure how they will ever get “dialed in.” Big swing and a miss tonight.
, attached to 1997-11-26

Review by RunawayJim4180

RunawayJim4180 This was one of my first handful of shows (somewhere in the 4-5 range I'd guess), and I remembered it being an absolute heater. A tour buddy kept copious notes and set lists, and I recall him scribbling furiously during all of the briefs pauses or segues. This Tweezer begins in a slow, methodically funky bounce, and slowly ramps up to some soaring riffs and beautiful vamping, closing with some gentle delay loops and strumming that bring us into shore after the storm that preceded it. And then there's the rest of the show, with one of my favorite McGrupps, my absolute favorite Taste, my absolute favorite Character Zero (love the opener slot), a dance party disco 2001, AND THEN a grooved out Cities, AND THEN a mid set PYITE (!!), AND THEN a smoking (!) Caspian, and your non-standard Reprise to close the second set. Its interesting to see how this show stacks up in the ratings against some of the other heavy hitters of the era, or even some of the top ranked 3.0 shows. I haven't seen or heard anything like this show since a few hints here and there on 10/31/14, but I think the all time rating is held back a bit by the absolute insanity that was Fall '97 overall. Ah well, the tapes are just as good as I remember that night to be!
, attached to 2019-06-16

Review by aybesea

aybesea It's really hard to believe that this was a festival set, because this thing absolutely rocks! While the first set has a super strong Sand > Wolfman's, it is the second set that represents the significant meat of this affair. Seriously, just look at the set list... Mike's Groove with Fluff in the middle (and it's a really good Fluff), interposing a Weekapaug sandwich inside of a Twist sandwich... so fucking cool! It's a great Twist as well. And then they add a respectable Gin onto the plate for good measure. The SAT score for this show is a lofty 1188.62 with the big players being Fluff (147.69) and Twist (107.64). This is easily the best show of the tour so far!
, attached to 2019-06-16

Review by Wills_Son

Wills_Son Closed out Bonnaroo with a setlist full of goodies. Flubs in Reba’s composed section gave way to a good jam and the band never looked back. An excellent Free leads to Sand which gives us the best jam of the first set, if not the whole show, followed by a tasty Wolfman’s. Second set features no song breaks, opening with a tight Mike’s then Fluffhead (with a well executed composed section!), but the goods are delivered in the Twist -> Weekapaug -> NMINML -> Weekapaug -> Twist. The segues were great. While that stretch wasn’t as jammed out as one might expect, the rest of the set filled that hole. Fuego gets up there, and Ghost finds its way to a blissful jam that departs from its cow funk tendencies. Gin closes the set out proper. Wilson > First Tube encore was a fun way to end a very good show.
, attached to 2019-06-16

Review by dublindeuce

dublindeuce On the night of a full moon, Phish delivers perhaps their best ever performance at a festival that isn't their own! Set Your Soul Free gets the place moving, and Blaze On delights once again! Blaze On impresses with a fiery and unique peak. The band nails the Reba composed section, but the jam gets cut a bit too short for my liking. Trey peaks it quite quickly and opted for Free. I was a little blue balled by this, to be honest, but the quality of the Reba was there, so I can't be too upset. Free, even a standard version like this, hands my ass to me every day. Sand is a great call, and this exploration reminds me of any hot Sand from the fall 2018 tour. Wolfman's Brother wins jam of the first set, with a nice vocal jam and some spacey funk! A standard Mike's set II opener breaks way to a surprise Fluffhead! Like the Reba from set 1, Fluffhead is executed well, but unlike the Reba, this version's jam leaves me highly satisfied! Twist has been perhaps MVP of the past two years, and this is another scorcher! I prefer the sleepy groove of Twist from St. Louis, but this one is high energy. The Weekapaug > NMINML > Weekapaug > Twist run was nice, but I feel they only briefly touched on each. It was a thrilling segue, but not the most improvisational I've ever heard. Phish delivers a solid 4th quarter, with Fuego, a blissful albeit short Ghost, and a soaring Bathtub Gin. I'm loving the set 2 treatment Gin has been getting recently! Gin is like pizza, always good, but this Gin is 8.5/10 Chicago deep dish good! I gotta say that Wilson > First Tube is a much better choice for an encore than Farmhouse > First Tube (St Louis N2) This show is the gem of the tour so far, and wraps up a memorable Bonnaroo for Phish! My only gripe with this show is that Trey relied heavily on songs that he had already played so far this tour. We are four shows into the summer so far, and there has already been 8 repeats! That's a big difference compared with the last two summer tours. Next stop is Canada! I'm hoping for a jammed out Golden Age
, attached to 2019-06-14

Review by aybesea

aybesea For a one set festival show, this was a lot better than many. The ER -> Tweezer is a really enjoyable run of songs. And the Hood is no slouch, either. The SAT score for this short show is 690.19, which is actually a really good score considering how brief and condensed this performance was. I wasn't at this one, but I have to believe that those who were would be pleasantly surprised by the strength of this show in a festival run.
, attached to 2019-06-16

Review by JMart

JMart A couple of coherent thoughts for the record: When Phish started Set Your Soul Free, it was immediately evident to my ears that there was something different from both St. Louis shows and the first Bonnaroo late night set: they sounded like they wanted to be there. SYSF and Blaze On both featured short, snappy solo breaks by Trey. Sand was the clear highlight of the show to me, and the first time all tour they really found their footing as a jam unit. Aggressive playing by everyone and some really good moment of pure funk grind. It was a surprise to see Free and Twist repeated so early in the tour, but both were played with much more gusto this time around, particularly Free. Twist filled out nicely, moving through several distinct progressions before making a pretty nifty solo into weekapaug, which stuck around long enough to make its own nifty segue into No Men's. Fans of these songs (myself included) are probably going to be disappointed because it seemed as though they just touched on them instead of exploring them completely. Morph back into week and back into Twist which forms a nice palindrome and the real meat of the show. This is what you need to listen if you want the gist of the show. All in all, I would have loved to be in attendance, especially for the sand and parts of the second set. Fluffhead is strange choice for a festival set and there were no real deep dives (again, probably owing to the fact that they knew this wasn't "their" crowd) but Phish as a unit sounded much more well rehearsed and engaged with the music than the previous three shows. Onward!
, attached to 2019-06-16

Review by s1177375

s1177375 Thank you so much for these free live videos. I pay 120 bucks a year plus concerts for the streams so any free breaks are so kind and much enjoyed. This was the 1st great overall show of the tour. These set lists Until tonight have been pretty strange. A loving cup strange placement and strange mellow jam a few days ago. The mr completely used to be a rarity but maybe that’s changing. They seem a bit nervous but perhaps that happens every tour at the beginning ironing out the kinks and blowing off rust and dust. Trey is happy that is clear and that goes a long ways. My favorite so far is the new song opening night St. Louis and the twist the next night and this twist was cool too w a recap reprise that was fun. Drift while your sleeping is an interesting song it has my immediate attention. Lyrics are exactly in the vein of set your soul free and come together rise up but it builds very well. I wanna hear that one again in the tour It reminds me of mercury or guyute a 10 minute solid orchestral piece not quite guyute stature but great. Some may find it boring like spices pebbles and marbles or time turns elastic but it is far more engaging than those 3 to me. Very pretty indeed. I am so syched for my first show since Pittsburgh 2017. Hope they can top the Caspian and mr completely ! Blossom always delivers. I can’t wait to split open and melt or coil 1st set ender calling it now. Toronto shows are usually sleepers but I hope to be wrong. This is my dream show. A show of all animal songs. Cuz they have more than enough or a GO show devoted to the dream of places the “where’s”we all wanna visit. Set 1. Don’t you wanna go >Let’s Go >TMWSIY>Swept Away>Lizards>When the Circus Comes to Town>Roggae>TMWSIY>Waves Sea and Sand >Sand The Squirming Coil Set 2. NMinNML Esther Petrichor Farmhouse Dirt On Your Way Down Sleep Bliss Wingsuit Devotion to a Dream (somewhere over the rainbow tease)Home You Ain’t Goin Nowhere YEM>On the Road Again Encore: Harry Hood Traveling I Been Around. Vocal jam in the melody of the willie Nelson tune drifting melodically into it Accapella at first. No Alvenu malkenu debut Page where’s the chairman of the board’s been? That is my wet dream show like all only animals or the David Bowie in the moon in 3000
, attached to 2019-06-14

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Wow, that was really good! I can't believe the best Phish set this year is going to be a one-setter at a large festival. LOL but really, whatever sound mixing that they used for the Sirius XM radio was insanely crisp and it produced a great audio experience listening along with the setlist thread on Reddit. The theme for Friday's show was very tight jams that were sped up to allow for exploration to take place quicker than normal to allow for the festival crowd. And wow, did they deliver. Carini is the opening punch and DWD is the first jam of the day, but the real meat of the show is the Everything's Right > Mercury > Tweezer - each one contains what is really a spectacular jam! Tweezer especially brings the HOSE - could this be the fastest Tweezer of 3.0? Something was in the water last night. 2001 is a well played dance party, and More is sped up to the point where it gets the crowd back in for... HOOD! Type 2 Hood just melted faces at this year's Bonnaroo, I'm sure of it. Trey departs from the standard Hood soloing and the band gets into a full groove-based jam before returning to the Hood coda at the end. Great stuff, and a Zero closer is nice nonetheless. Possum is well played and sounded terrific and then Tweeprise could close every show until the end of time and I would not be mad. Unbelievable stuff and tempos last night. Must Hear: DWD, Everything's Right > Mercury > TWEEZER, Harry Hood You really can't go wrong with getting this entire show though. The mix is one of the best I've ever heard (honestly sounded like a live soundboard, miles ahead of regular LivePhish) and Phish is cooking as good as they have been. Can't wait for Sunday!
, attached to 1990-02-25

Review by Anonymous

This was a great show. Slow Rift, baby. 

, attached to 1995-12-30

Review by rachelmolly

rachelmolly A show from my 1st year seeing Phish, being class of '95. Reviewing this setlist, I am reminded that I was just left mouth open at pretty much every tune. Some of these I had heard from Picture of Nectar and Hoist, the two albums I listened to for the year or so leading up to these NYE shows (before they were called YEMSG!). Also Sprach Zarathustra was a joy, as it was a familiar tune but hearing Phish jam it out gave me a new-found appreciation for the musical classics out there. Suzy....what more is there to say when you're a Jewish girl who went to a liberal arts school but never took sociology. By Bowie I was feeling nice and cozy, but It's Ice->Kung->It's Ice was a true mind expansion. Part funny, part messed up, part confusing! The floor on the steps near us was wet as someone had dropped a cup of water. So when it's Ice came on "He's fallen on the ice it cracks," fed into my anxiety that someone (aka Me) would fall and trip on the slippery steps. But then the Kung part....I really had to sit down, I was so blown away. But then when they are yelling to stand up, I just knew that the wet steps would be ok and to laugh and have a good time. TMWSIY unbeknownst to me was Trey's masterpiece which I printed out probably the next day and studied as a manual, but naturally the Avenue Malkenu was tops . Ending the 1st set with a Sample which is a tune that I knew from the aforementioned albums was an honest to goodness way to just keep my face melted and keep me happy and lov.I.n.g. This Band From Vermont!!!! 2nd set was just So Much Fun! Ya mar such a fun song to open a set, but then the message really gets across in Free and you know that is placed so strategically as if it say, "get ready to just let it all out for this stellar second set, you deserve it, guys!" Harry Hood, being from New England and having known about Phish and missing all their shows while in college in Boston, well that was like a homecoming song to me. Cavern you think that the show is over but it's Antelope and you're so happy to hear it, since it's not the 200th time you're hearing it live. Mind blown too when A Day in the Life comes in, as if to think, "Who the heck are these Thinking People who are Obvi influenced by Good Musical peoples who run this band called Phish.?
, attached to 1995-12-31

Review by rachelmolly

rachelmolly So many years later, and no notes from the show, my memory is a bit of a haze. However one thing that I will never forget is that we were sitting behind the stage, this is before the Garden was renovated so I think it was called section 69 or 70. When the large white balloons/balls came down just having the vantage point of being behind the stage and seeing them float out on to the crowd, and then back toward the stage, was surreal. It's as if they were floating as was I during this show, only my 4th (I think?) Phish show of my life. I was so blown away by so much of the show, as many of these tunes were new to me on this night. Imagine hearing Strange Design for the first.time.ever. By second set, it surely was a Strange Design and you didn't know if you were dripping in it or tripping in it. By the time of Midnight, to hear Weekapaug was to fully embrace Phish, to feel that I have arrived and to feel at one with the entire Garden as we were all sharing in the groove. I had seen other bands in this hometown venue of mine in the past, including Billy Joel, Genesis (ok, Hartford Civic Center) and the Stones (ok, Shea Stadium) but never felt like I had ever shared in any sort of groove before. Phish made that happen. By the time Frankenstein came on, I knew this was familiar musical territory, and I was fully even more so blown away when they rocked out Johnny B. Goode. Before 1995 I hadn't had a rock and roll musical experience ever like that created by Phish, and I knew that from then on, I wanted more, More, MORE!
, attached to 2019-06-12

Review by aybesea

aybesea The second night in St Louis is a really enjoyable listen. I thoroughly enjoy the second set, especially Gloria through Light. I ran the numbers for the SAT score for this show, and modified them giving a bonus to Gloria and Loving Cup to represent the special nature of these performances in light of the Stanley Cup. The Twist from this show is a real piece of beauty! SAT Score: 1058.26 with the big contributors being Twist (145.00) and Light (139.70). I have to say, while St Louis isn't an Earth shattering pair of shows, they are really strong and a great opening to what may be a spectacular tour! At least, that's my hope. Love, love, love this band!
, attached to 2019-06-12

Review by the_nitty_gritty

the_nitty_gritty Phish taps into moments that matter to people, and to the city of St. Louis, this moment was special. The crowd was chanting “Let’s go Blues” before the encore last night, and from what I hear Trey was at Game 6 (which is where he heard Blues fans singing Gloria). The band fully grasped the moment and responded memorably. A high energy first 4 songs with Blues up 2-0 instilled confidence. An average Undermind followed by 3 whatevers gave phans a chance to fire up hulu and watch the first period end still up 2-0. Funky Bitch and Set Your Soul Free forced a resurrection of the energy inside the arena, and Antelope came at the perfect time. Barely into the jam, a cry rose up and cheering continued for multiple minutes as the Blues scored the crucial number 3. Kuroda switched to blue and gold, and Trey teased Gloria. If the venue had allowed champagne the corks would have been popping. Before the set ended the Blues had scored a fourth. At break phans gathered around the concourse in front of concession stand tvs as the internet was worthless with so many people streaming. The minutes counted down, and phans cheered the victory, high fiving strangers and rejoicing in the literal once in a lifetime (51 years!) championship. I had two conversations pre show in which we swore Phish would not play Gloria. Too cheesy. No way. It would be some combination of Party Time, Loving Cup, and It’s Ice. Well, they played Gloria. Fuck yes! And then Loving Cup - type II !?!?! Hell fucking yes! In a moment when a not small contingent of phans would have orgasmed should the band play 2001, Phish dropped a Twist. Early reluctance at the decision was rapidly abated by an epic monumental jam recalling 4/2/98. About to Run was a terrible tone deaf song choice which almost ran the celebration off the rails. Mr. Completely did not do much to help the situation and you could feel the disconnect between phan exhilaration and weirdly dark lyrics. I almost bailed for a concourse break to reconnect with the unrestricted joy of the moment. Then the band played easily the best Light I have ever heard and unquestionably the best jam of the run. Type II perfection where you can simultaneously listen to each of them playing without ignoring anyone. And play they did. The second must listen of the night. Waste was yet another of the poor song choices from the night, although it was as usual touching and beautiful, given that phans had no interest in hearing a ballad at this point of the evening. Suzy tapped the energy and let Page lead which is always awesome, but I just don’t like Suzy which I know is kind of sacrilege so I was like ok what’s next. However, as Trey said “Thank you St. Louis. Congratulations!” And Fishman yelped, “St. Louis Blues!” At the end, I found myself warmed with joy and intolerant of my own personal preferences. Just enjoy this! Farmhouse encore was way down my list of “I hope they play” but it was surprisingly moving and I found myself tearing up in gratitude for this night, this memory I would never forget. Eye on the clock I thought this might be it, but Phish once again realizing the moment knew no one gave two shits whether they played past “curfew” tonight in St. Louis, especially after they paid homage to the city with such pure authenticity. So First Tube. Again, hell fucking yes Phish! Trey was way into it, moving and dancing like Santana meets Eddie Van Halen. Outstanding version, with visceral effect changes, and a full realization of the power of this song in the moment. Unless you are from Boston (or perhaps Chicago) this was a synchronistically stellar conflagration of two major events that resulted in a far more meaningful and memorable experience than otherwise possible. It couldn’t have happened without the incredible chemistry this band has with its phans, or for that matter their just plain common sense awareness of the world and what things mean to people. The story of this show will be without question handed down to generations of phans in St. Louis and frankly much of the midwest. It will live in Phish lore phorever. I love this band and am eternally grateful for everything they have brought to my life and those I love!
, attached to 2019-06-12

Review by yam_ekaj

yam_ekaj wow! what an incredible phish show. let's get right to the review. first of all, the energy in chaifetz was unreal all night. before the show even started, the blues were out to a 2-0 lead in the Cup, so people were understandably pumped up. phish kept that going with a chalkdust opener. traditional type 1 version, but certainly no complaints here. moma next - again standard, but with extra energy in the room, this version had a little extra heat. next came a, in my opinion, perfectly placed waves. while it changed the energy in the room a bit, it allowed the fans to settle in. some nice playing here from the whole band, particularly page who was on fire tonight. next came a relatively languid sequence of Bouncin, undermind, heavy things -- all played quite nicely. trey has spoken about working on his singing in recent years, and this work became very clear during heavy things--he really sounds great. roggae next, which always begins softly, but the band roared to a wonderful peak during the jam. the energy continued with the first kasvot song of the night, we have come to outlive our brains. love this song of course. funky bitch was absolute fire. again, money playing from page, and a sick bluesy solo from trey. interesting placement for set your soul free--the last 8 times it was played, it was in the final set of the night (set 2 mostly of course, but set 3 on halloween). the only other set 1 appearance was its debut at the gorge in 2018. no big jam here, just a standard type 1 section. i enjoyed the placement - phish always keeping us guessing. at this point, the blues were up 3-0, and you could feel the euphoria in the room. phish followed suit, delivering a rollicking antelope to close the set. trey threw in some gloria teases here in honor of the blues. (gloria is the song the blues 'adopted' during these playoffs, playing it after every home win both in the arena and in the streets.) setbreak was phenomenal tonight because the blues won the cup. people were going crazy. i'm not from STL myself, but it felt like i was with all the joy in that room. what a great memory for those true blues fans. people around me were talking about phish opening set 2 with gloria. after trey's teases, i didn't think it would happen, but sure enough, phish delivered again! they must've learned the song during setbreak--such an incredible moment. some of the most joy i've ever felt at a phish show. next came loving CUP (get it?!) at this point, i worried that the show would be a "had to be there" show, where the intrinsic energy in the venue carried the band through the night, and relisten value would be rather low. oh how wrong i was. loving cup, instead of ending the usual way, launched into an epic jam! starting out with some patient funk, trey eventually led the band into a blissful type-2 jam. absolutely awesome to watch phish jam in a place they usually do not. they arrived in the key of G, and trey began twist. and what a twist this was. perhaps it'll be eventually known as "The St. Louis Twist." featuring at least 3 distinct sections, this moved through bluesy type-1, blissful hose jamming, ripping funk, and a final jam section that sounded akin to weekapaug. truly a thrilling, epic phish jam. a must listen, no doubt. next came the second GOTF song of the tour, a raging rendition of about to run. some awesome soloing from trey here; he was clearly loving the energy in the room. next came the TAB favorite mr. completely. i love this song--and like it even more when phish plays it. this jam again went type 2, the third of the set. started with some precise interplay between page, mike and trey as fishman held it down, and then some awesome hose here during the major key section. the end featured the rare fishman "ripcord" (sort of) as he led the band nicely back into the form. on a dime, the band launched into light. this was my favorite jam of the night. another type-2 masterpiece. awesome rhythmic jamming at the beginning, with more awesome interplay between trey and page. here, the song was perhaps still within the general structure of light, but then the band again dove into type-2 territory. some more blissful jamming, before a full key-change for some funk. the jam then "collapsed" in the best way possible (reminded me of a 74 dead jam in a way), with each band member exploring sonic space before returning to the light form. waste cooled us down before suzy brought the celebratory evening to a fitting close. the encore began with farmhouse, which i can't say i was thrilled about. i love this song, but it works well as a cool-down, not as a part of an encore. but it didn't matter, because after a nice version, the band began first tube, perhaps my favorite oft-encored song. there was some extra enthusiasm from trey here, as he soloed powerfully over the end section, before relishing the opportunity to lead the entire arena in a massive ovation during the final feedback display. absolutely incredible show. nearly every opportunity they had to jam in the second set, phish delivered, even in places where they wouldn't usually jam. the energy will hopefully come through on the recording, but even if it doesn't, the jams will speak for themselves. if this is phish the second night of tour, we are in for some serious shit going forward.
, attached to 2019-06-12

Review by biedergb

biedergb I don’t give too many 5 stars. But because game 7 was tonight and we heard Gloria ( St. Louis blues victory song for those who don’t know). And they played loving (Stanley) Cup, plus Twist (whether intentional given Tony Twist legacy) it will be my most memorable show. Let’s go Phish. And blues.
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by JMart

JMart Admittedly my seats were on the couch, and admittedly I'm only going to offer a few thoughts, so here goes: I'm not sure there's anything that rises to relisten status in this show. Example: Stash. For starters, I could have walked faster than the pace they placed it at. It being the tour opener, one would think that they would have rehearsed this beforehand. It sure as heck didn't sound like it- Trey flubbed basically every line in the instrumental section. Badly. The jam almost immediately detoured into major key territory, far away from most Stash jams, which in and of itself isn't disappointing, it's just that it felt like very [i]familiar[/i] territory with not a lot of creative umph behind it. When Trey got tired of this, he abruptly switched back to the D minor and wrapped 'er up. None of the tension and release that marks so many classic versions of this tune. Example 2: Free. I love this song. I always want to hear it. I will never get tired of it. That having been said, listen to the jam. Just go back and listen to it. Trey just disappears for almost all of it. I'm not joking. It's bizarre. He looked visibly uncomfortable onstage, like none of his neurons were firing or something. Page did his best to save this with some eerie synth stylings. I know this is tour opener and all, but yikes, dude. Yikes. No Men's had a snappy jam that didn't do much, but at least it put some pop back in the proceedings. Ghost and Piper similarly went nowhere. I hate to be negative about my favorite band. I really do. But honesty dictates that this was a real bummer of a show. You can never tell the vibe present in the actual auditorium. I hope everyone had fun, but I hope you get something much different and much better tonight.
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by s1177375

s1177375 Pussy drop interrupt !!! To start was a mellow ok way to get the tour started pussy to the face fuck your face still better of the 2. Then again teased in a very decent Tube but recently yet again not nearly long enough jam funk part. It only was in 98 and once at cinci in 03. The drift while your sleeping was actually the highlight of the night for me. I love that song much lyrically like rise up come together but way more Melodic and less dissonance off key on purpose notes and much like some of their other shorter progressive songs like guyute or pebbles and marbles. Actually the 1st set was a bit better which is rare making for a bad show overall. The Ghost has a nice mellow jam flowing into a quick piper. A nice off to see the wizard tease in LbL and a great closer to any set Slave. I hate turtles bad song and album but never a bad Zero so all in all 3.7 from me
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by topolewb

topolewb In attendance with my right hand man Bob. What a great indoor arena, with little to no security. Lots of energy once again, coming of the 12/29/18 show for me. Cool Amber was a perfect song to kick it off (Faceplant into Rock samples are so freakin awesome) followed by 46 Days for Leigh. Next came Stash, which was most certainly and surprisingly the highlight of the show. I was expecting a standard Stash, but got a gem. Tube was awesome and once again was stretched. Are Set 1’s now better than Set 2’s?? Drift while sleeping is such a great tune, and Phish nailed it. The second set kicked off with a great NMINML. Which lead us through a line up of 10 min jams. Not lengthy but plenty of pop. Piper gets the second best song of the night with its killer peaks. LxL started for which I hoped for a set closer similar to recent SOAM’s. We got Slave instead, first world problems. I love TITC and we got the dance rendition as well. Character Zero closes us out. Awesome opening night. About an easy 15 minute walk back to the hotel, and we do it again tonight. Back to lack of security- one issue. What was with the Nitrous balloons everywhere?!? We can do better.
, attached to 1994-11-04

Review by Choda

Choda The plan was for Halloween to be my first show! Didn’t happen. So I find myself in the hometown of that awesome rock band Frodo for my first phish experience.... ....and the result? Well here I am 25 years and 235 shows later. So that should clue you in on what my first show did to me.
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by aybesea

aybesea So, I'm unveiling something new for this tour. Starting with last year's summer tour I began playing with a more "analytic" way to assess shows and their relative merits. I developed a proprietary (to me, at least) algorithm for measuring the contributions of song selection and jamminess of an individual show. Each of these two categories offers a numeric contribution to an overall score. It was happenstance that the range of values for the combined score went from 400-1600, sound familiar? This leads me to name this score the "Show Assessment Test" or SAT (cute, huh?) I figure that for this tour, I'll share out my values and if anyone's interested they are welcome to chime in with feedback. So, the SAT for this show ends up being almost exactly 1100 (exactly 1100.11) with Stash (192.90) and NMINML (147.35) being the biggest contributors. A Google search for an 1100 SAT Score yields this desription: [i]Is a 1100 on the SAT a good score? A 1100 is a little better than average. It places you in the top 59th percentile nationally out of the 1.7 million students taking the SAT this year. [/i] I thought that this description matches this show to a tee! Hence my decision to go ahead and post this on .NET. Hopefully, some of you might find a little value in this experiment... I know that I have.
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by endorphimine

endorphimine [b]First review[/b] The first set started out really strong with an awesome Cool Amber and Mercury. Trey has some really nice playing in this song and it is one of my highlights of the first set. The 46 Days is good, but not excellent and the Stash is interesting and taken for a ride. In my opinion, the set lost a lot of energy after Stash with Nellie Kane, Free and Theme not doing too much for me. The Tube is has a nice jam in it, per usual. There aren't many ~10 minute Tubes I don't like. The GOTF song is one I haven't listened to much, but it was played well, especially for a debut. Doesn't sound like a Phish song at all and is kind of a dull set-ender, but I might change my mind on that the more I get into the song. Who knows. Second set starts with a strong NMINML with a really nice and mellow jam. Segue to Bathtub Gin is a bit rough, but no complaints with this song because it's your typical, good-yet-not-incredible Bathtub Gin. Fun, but nothing to write home to mom about. They explore a lot in Ghost, but to me, it never quite gets there. The segue to Piper is also a bit rough, but the Piper is solid. Blaze On is also solid. Joy is fine. A quick run-through of Simple is fun. Another rough segue to a fun and blissful Limb by Limb. Slave is a nice set-closer. Turtle in the Clouds to Character Zero is a fun encore. Takeaways from night 1 of summer tour: Cool Amber and Mercury and NMINML were my two highlights with Piper and Stash being right behind them. Don't know how I feel about GOTF songs becoming Phish mainstays, but they might need time to grow on me. Overall, it was a good, not great night. A solid 3.5 out of 5 in my books. It's about what I expected out of a tour opener. Looking forward to the rest of summer. Cheers.
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by yam_ekaj

yam_ekaj wow! so excited to be back reviewing shows. every time i'm about to begin another run of phish shows, i think to myself "i've never been more pumped to see phish," and this time was no different. in fact, i felt especially pumped this year, as the band has shown over the past few tours that they are really capable of anything. anyway, on the to the review. this was a very good phish show. it was clear at times that the band was still easing back into playing together, but that's to be expected. also, if this is the show that the band plays rusty, i can't wait to see what will be going on in the next few weeks. set 1 was excellent. it begins with kasvot vaxt--a very well played cool amber. jam section here really sets the tone; the band is still locked in, even after months away from touring. next comes 46 days, which was extra-meaningful of course, considering the passing of leigh fordham. i found it to be a classy move for the band not to reference this explicitly, instead letting the music speak for itself. next comes the highlight of the show for me: stash. an absolute must-listen version!! i think it has to be the best version i've ever seen live. begins with some standard stash-y jamming, but rather quickly, it takes off into type-ii territory! there was a beautiful blissful section, followed by a bluesy, crunchier section, and then finally a return to the stash structure. truly a remarkable jam. nellie kane is next, followed by a standard free and theme from the bottom (although standard versions contain a lot of excellent improv these days). tube is next, and it could've definitely jammed harder, but this was pretty good. finally, the set ended with the phish debut of drift while you're sleeping. i'm a big fan of this song, and it suits phish quite well. the rousing end section is a great set closer; i wouldn't be surprised if this is played a few times this summer. we'll see what other ghosts of the forest material they break out. all in all, an excellent first set of the tour. really tight all the way through and some brilliant type-ii jamming. also, the sound in the chaifetz arena was superb, particularly during the first set. set 2 was a bit clunkier than the first, but certainly contained a great deal of inspired playing. the entire first sequence (No mens > gin > ghost -> piper > blaze on) was quite exciting, and while none of the jams are particularly long themselves, taken together, this is a fantastic sequence of improv. No men's contained some beautiful hose, gin roared to peak, and both ghost, piper and blaze on contained some dynamic, rhythmic jamming. while i wouldn't necessarily point to the individual versions, this is a great set to spin as a whole, as each song ramps up the energy. that being said, there were certainly a few ripcord-y moments, particularly the ghost -> piper. joy comes next, continuing its renaissance of late (it was played once in 2017, but four times in 2018, and now the first show of 2019). can't say i'm upset; this is a beautiful song, of course. simple comes next, which i'll never complain about; however, i would rather see this in a marquee slot as they tend to jam it so well. but again, can't complain about a raging 4th-quarter simple. LxL keeps the energy high and features some great work from Trey. the set closes with Slave, and boy can they play this song. trey sustains a note for what seemed like forever, before crescendoing into the typically-stunning peak. turtle in the clouds encore is fun - honestly, while the dancing is hilarious, it goes on for a little too long for me. but to each their own! certainly love watching the boys have so much fun up there. a standard character zero closes it out. overall, a really awesome tour opener. as i said, if this is a warm-up show, we're in for a great summer!
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by Col_Radicones_Ascent

Col_Radicones_Ascent Well...tour opener, how about that, in the books. Phish came out swinging. Sounding both well rested and well rehearsed the boys sounded as confident as ever showing very little rust in the first set. Each song was played with precision and each had some extra mustard added. It was a set of old reliables sandwiched between two new tunes and two that I was really excited to hear again. Second set was at times choppy, which was only noticeable because of the flawless first set but is forgiven because hey...its the tour opener. However it bodes well because it shows how badly they want to stretch there wings and go deep. Second set had some awesome song choices and most were heavy hitters, however there were a few transitioning moments that felt rushed or miscalculated but again they are reaching for the stars rather than retracting to the 2016 timidness. The encore was equally fun, Turtle in the Clouds is such a quirky song and it really looks like Trey and Mike truly enjoy doing the dance. Finally I want to touch upon how excited I was to hear the "Drift while your sleeping". I love that song and have since I first heard it. When Trey played it I immediately thought it would fit perfectly in the Phish repertoire and I am happy to see it pop up night one. Id love to go into more detail but others will dig deep so I will leave it to them. Just happy to see them this confident right out of the gate! Good night from Couch Tour
, attached to 2019-06-11

Review by A_Buddhist_Prodigy

A_Buddhist_Prodigy What a way to kick off the summer. I thought that sounded really good. I wish that No Men’s jam would have lasted way longer; it was a great vibe. They seems to have their chops ready for the summer. No doubt they will tighten the composed sections up, but they were ready to roll their sleeves up and get funky. It’s gonna be a great summer!
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation